Myra Corrello

Couchsurfing Profile (for non-Couchsurfing Guests and Hosts)

Myra@MyraCorrello.com

(504) 812-5990

 

 

OVERVIEW

  • Fluent in English
  • 58, Female
  • Small Business advisor & professional speaker.
    •  Business Growth Strategies & Digital Marketing faculty of the Goldman Sachs 10KSB program
  • B.S. & M.A. in Business/Marketing; PhD in Org Communication / Org Behavior
  • Profile 100% complete

ABOUT ME
Note: Please read “My Home” before requesting to surf!

Want to surf? Create a thoughtful (customized) request, provide identity verification, and add the “My Home” special acceptance code to your request (to ensure you’ve read that section and agree to its terms). Surfers are welcome for 1- or 2-night stays.

I came to New Orleans for Jazz Fest many years ago – and “forgot” to go home. 🙂 I fell in love with the rich culture/food/music/festivals. I love warm places and warm people. In New Orleans, people live to celebrate – everything. Now, I am finally at a stage where I want to go back out and explore similar cultures.

I have traveled, solo, for most of my life. In New Orleans, I “host” people all the time – in some form or another. I love it so much that I actually went to class and studied (and passed the exam) to become a licensed tour guide – although I don’t pursue it as an income source.

I live for experiences – and I love to help others create them. I think I was born to teach so sharing knowledge of all my favorite things about this crazy place brings me great joy. I hope, in my travels, that some of that good karma will also come my way. I love to learn and make great memories.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I have always traveled independently and prefer hostels and AirBnB over non-personal lodging options. Interaction with hosts and/or fellow travelers is part of what makes a trip special. I seek out the non-obvious “local” things – such as favorite food “dives” and great off-the-beaten-path nature experiences. Plus, I’ve always been a budget traveler (it’s more creative!) but, now, I know that the better I manage my budget, the more I get to travel. I’ll be working out of coffee shops along the way. 🙂

Interests

Photography, music festivals, salsa dancing, cooking, Latin/blues/jazz/world/roots music, hiking, kayaking, craft beer, ethnic foodie, gardens, nature walks, mezcal

Music, Movies, and Books

Major New Orleans music follower: funk, blues, jazz. Have also traveled extensively to Latin music festivals (love salsa, cumbia, merengue, bachata….) and salsa congresses.

I love indie and international films. Enjoy traveling to film festivals. I’m a documentary nerd. Even my Netflix and Prime watch lists are full of documentaries. LOL! But most are fun ones related to travel and food. 🙂

Most of my reading is related to work. As a strategist, I have to be one step ahead of my clients and audiences. 🙂

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Survived Hurricane Katrina (yes, I was in NOLA through it), got rescued, and went back and helped rebuild the city – the most meaningful work of my career. And, just finished a 4-month 25-state/16,000-mile road trip in my little 14-year-old convertible (along with 4 trips to Mexico in the middle of it). LOL!

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: I love to cook! Can share all kinds of tips and recipes. Am considered an “expert” in small business growth, communication, and relationship-building strategies – so hit me up for some quick advice. All things New Orleans.

Learn: Anything and everything. I’m an avid learner and I’m fascinated by learning about different cultures. I totally suck at trying to learn Spanish. Hopefully, I’ll get a chance to do an immersion, soon, and make some progress. I have a very good eye for photography – and I’m a good editor – but I need to learn how to use my DSLR better. I get lost in the menus! Always wanting to learn new tech tips.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Share: I’m a great sous chef so I’ll always pitch in in the kitchen. Love animals, gardening, etc. so I can be handy to have around. I’m a pretty respected business coach so hit me up with your questions.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bahamas, Belize, Canada, Costa Rica, Dominica, England, Italy, Mexico, Panama, Puerto Rico, Saint Lucia, Switzerland, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, United States

MYRA’S PREFERENCES

  • Max Number of Guests: 1
  • Last-Minute Requests Okay? Yes
  • Preferred Gender to Host: female
  • Kid Friendly? No
  • Pet Friendly? No
  • Smoking Allowed? No

 

 

 

 

 

 

MYRA’S HOME

  • Has Pets? No
  • Has Children? No
  • Smoking at Home? No
  • Wheelchair Accessible? No

SLEEPING ARRANGEMENTS
Public room (eg: Living Room)

I live alone in a cool traditional New Orleans “shotgun” house. I have a comfortable couch available just inside the front door in the living room. We would share the single bathroom which is located in the middle of the house. (It’s a traditional old-house bathroom. Nothing fancy.) There is room in my (mostly unused office) to store your belongings and hang your clothes.

From 10:30 pm to 8:00 am, you have quite a bit of privacy (the whole front of the house: living room, kitchen, and bathroom – see pics) because I sleep in the back of the house. However, I work from home. The living room and kitchen turn into my “office” shortly after 8:00 am each weekday.

***So, during the work-week, my offering is a good fit only IF you only need a place to crash at the END of the day – and you will be out and about (seeing the city, working at a coffeeshop/co-working space, etc.) during the hours between 9:00 am – 5:00 pm. ***

On weekends, there’s more opportunity for flexibility. I can share lots of great places for you to work and/or hang out nearby.

To confirm you have read all the details of “My Home” and accept these offerings and limitations, please include the word, “SHOTGUN” into your Surfing Request.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

MORE DETAILS

Roommate Situation

I live alone – but it’s cozy – so I prefer to host a MATURE female. Please be neat, thoughtful, and pick up / clean up after yourself. (There’s a reason I never chose to have kids. LOL!)

As a historic, elevated shotgun, the house can be drafty in the winter.  Prepare for cold floors (no sub-flooring or insulation). And my sleeping temp is 68 degrees – so prepare to be cool at night.

If you meet cool people while out in NOLA (and you will!), don’t bring them home with you. NO outside guests, ever. 

Please customize your Surf Request and tell me why we are a good fit.

What I Can Share with Guests

My weekdays in NOLA are pretty intense but, when I cook, you’re absolutely welcome to join me. With a great grocery store just 1/2 block from me, you can always grab things and bring back to prepare in a fully-stocked kitchen. I am extremely active in art/music/food/culture throughout the region so I can give you some great “insider” tips and ideas. On weekends, I may have more flexibility to share some of my favorite NOLA things with you. My lodging offerings are quite humble but I am a great source of NOLA info.

Public Transportation Access

Tchoupitoulas bus line one-half block away. Magazine Street bus line 3 blocks. Historic St. Charles Ave streetcar line 12 blocks. All easy walks. Buy a $3 day pass and hop on and off the St. Charles streetcar or Magazine St. bus for a whole day of great stops.

Additional Info

The location is wonderful. The neighborhood is historic – filled with cool architecture and tropical gardens. Easy walking distance to shopping, grocery stores, restaurants, bars, coffeehouses, galleries, tony Magazine Street. Take a wonderful walk around Audubon Park & Zoo, and “The Fly” (our secret local park where you can watch the sun set over the Mighty Mississippi River). Craft breweries and distilleries along Tchoupitoulas are nearby – along with the famous Tipitina’s bar for incredible live music. World-class food is everywhere – I live only steps away from famed poboy mecca, Domilise’s. Only a quick 10-minute rideshare into town or 20 minutes by bus. Lift/Uber is around $12-14 to downtown.

Important information and tips: I am now traveling about 50% of the time so, if I can’t host you, that will likely be the reason.

I prefer to host: 1) those who make a thoughtful, customized request 2) verified members with great references 3) mature travelers.